In order to play a more active role for international peace, Japan enacted the the Act on Cooperation with United Nations Peacekeeping Operations and Other Operations(PDF:342KB)open PDF in a new windowin June 1992. Ever since then, it has on many occasions provided personnel and in-kind contributions to assist efforts for international peace led by the UN and other organizations.

This law establishes the four pillars of Japan's international peace cooperation:

  1. Contributions to  UN peacekeeping operations
  2. Contributions to internationally coordinated operations for peace and security
  3. Contributions to international election observation operations.
  4. Contributions to international election observation operations

It also stipulates that Japan's peacekeeping operations and etc. shall be carried out in according with the five principles.

The Five Principles

  1. Agreements on a cease-fire shall have been reached among the parties to armed conflicts.
  2. Consent for the undertaking of UN peacekeeping operations as well as Japan's participation in such operations shall have been obtained from the host countries as well as the parties to armed conflicts.
  3. The operations shall strictly maintain impartiality, not favoring any of the parties to armed conflicts.
  4. Should any of the requirements in the above-mentioned guideline cease to be satisfied, the International Peace Cooperation Corps may suspend International Peace Cooperation Assignments. Unless the requirements be satisfied again in a short term, the Government of Japan may terminate the dispatch of the personnel engaged in International Peace Cooperation Assignments.
  5. The use of weapons shall be limited to the minimum necessary to protect the lives of personnel, etc.

Four Pillars of Cooperation and Their Objectives

Conceptual framework of Japan's Cooperation

Tools of Cooperation