International Peace Cooperation Assignment in East Timor


Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste
(Gained independence from the Republic of Indonesia in 2002)


On August 30, 2001, elections for representatives to the Constituent Assembly, which was to draft a constitution, took place under the auspices of UNTAET . In response to a request from the UN , Japan dispatched 19 election observers ( 13 national government officials and 6 individuals from the private sector ) to East Timor to cooperate in election observation. The personnel collected information from relevant organizations and monitored campaign activities and election preparations in Dili, Manatuto, and Liquica Districts. On election day, August 30, they observed voting at 15 polling stations in these three districts.

Election Observers

The campaigning in Dili(img)

The campaigning in Dili

Election personnel monitoring voting(img)

Election observers monitoring

Five election observers left Japan on August 14 and arrived in East Timor the following day. Their duties included collecting information from UNTAET , the UNDP , and other relevant organizations and conducting local surveys. Twelve personnel, including six from the private sector, left Japan on August 22 and another two on August 26. Arriving in East Timor the day after their departure, these two groups began monitoring campaigning and election preparations in Dili, Manatuto, and Liquica Districts. On the polling day the election observers monitored voting at 15 polling stations in the above three districts and announced that in their view the election had in general been conducted freely and fairly. All the election observers completed their allotted duties by September 5 and returned to Japan. All in all, voting and ballot counting were carried out smoothly and peacefully. According to the final results announced by UNTAET on September 10, about 91% of some 420,000 eligible voters cast votes. The high turnout indicated the strong interest of the East Timorese in this election.

Deployment of Election Observers

Distribution of Electoral Observers(img)